My First Pillowcase Dress

I have been meaning to have a go at a pillocase dress for ages but never had any spare (or nice) pillocases, anyway, I have recently aquired quite a lot so I thought I’d take one with the least attractive pattern topractice on (didn’t want to waste a snazzy one), it turned out to be extremely easy to make, even the bias binding, and weirdly once made up as a dress the print actually looks really nice, who’d have thunk it?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 21:59:07

    That is super cute! Did you use a pattern or just wing it? I am new to sewing and would love to make one of these for my daughter.

    Reply

  2. annabombination
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 23:50:20

    Hi Cindy, there are hundreds of tutorials out there on the net and I found this one (which I have looked for again especially for you because I never book marked it, d’oh) which gives a size guide and I sort of followed that one.
    http://freshlypicked.blogspot.com/2008/03/pillow-case-dress-tutorial.html

    Reply

  3. Susan Petersen
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 23:23:38

    your dresses turned out really cute, i love how they turned out.

    Reply

  4. akhomeschoolfun
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 10:05:28

    I just finished making my daughter a dress from a sheet. The best part about using bedding is they are wash and wear plus dryer safe. Plus you can’t beat the thrift store price compared to fabric shops.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

